Nakheel Asset Management – Int. City vs Dubai Electricity and Water Authority

Have you remember my post about moving to international city last June. Yes after a long long patience that I have made and waited for 4 months, I decide to write a post about Nakheel Asset Management in International City with their unhelpful & unprofessional customer service. Ok it’s starts from here…

So yeah last June me & my wife move to International City because  of the expensive  rent  in  Deira on where we live before… We are happy on our decision and we also love the place.. starts from day 1 before I handed over the cheque to Mr. M.

Mr. M is a helpful local guy (yes I think he is a local) and guide me through all the process of getting a flat in International City in China Cluster.

After handing over the 3 cheques Mr. M, he gave me a 1 paper about connection of DEWA and told me to go to any branch of DEWA (Dubai Electricity and Water Authority) to deposit 1000 AED (to get in $ just divide in 3.67) for the connection of the place. I went to Al Awir branch, stayed in the line for about 10 mins. and the main problem starts here..


After waiting for 10 mins.  I went to a small window and told to the guy that I am going to pay for a deposit for connection of DEWA for my flat in International City.. He gets my address and existing DEWA account number. The guy from Dewa ask me a question,

are you going to pay the full amount? , and I replied what full amount. He said the account has a balance of 5,000 AED and you need to settled this first before you can deposit for a new connection.

What??.. I told him, that is not mine. and I’m the new tenant, why should I pay for that.. The guy from DEWA told me that I need to contact the nakheel branch and go to the main office of DEWA which is in Sheikh Zayed Road near Hyatt Hotel 45 mins drive to from Al Awir.

I called Mr. M and told him the situation. He told me don’t worry I will spoke to the guy in the DEWA counter. so I gave the phone to the guy in DEWA counter and told him, someone from nakheel asset management want to spoke to you.. After the phone conversation the guy from DEWA ask me ok where is your payment.. I gave it to him and he created a new account.. Thats great! I went back to nakheel asset management office  and give the receipt to mr M and get the key of my new flat.. yehey!..

After a month, it’s time to pay for a DEWA. I received the bill starting from June 1 until June 30 amounted 134.00 AED (that’s what I remember, I think). I went to Al Awir branch 10 – 15 mins drive my China cluster in International City.. I stayed for a line for 2 – 3 mins and now it’s my run. I gave the bill statement and the money. The guy from DEWA told me that I cannot pay the 1 month bill and what I need is to settle the full amount of the account. . so I explain it to him and he refused to get my money and told me that I need to go to the  main office.

So I called first to the customer services of Nakheel Asset Management in International City, complaining about the situation. A customer representative told me that they cannot do anything, and they cannot help me. I need to go to Nakheel office again and complain there. I was very very upset and I told to myself.. Ok I just need to finish this and next month It will not happen again.

I went to DEWA main office and then went to section/room no.5 then complained about the situation. A guy from recovery section told me that they cannot accept the payment and nakheel needs to pay the outstanding balanced and if not they will disconnect my water & electricity.. What the!!!

What will I do now… I told him this is not my outstanding balanced why don’t you just call them and tell them to pay. First the amount of 5000 AED is not in my account and second I AM WORKING AND I CANNOT JUST GO IN DEWA OFFICE THEN GO TO NAKHEEL’S OFFICE THEN GO BACK TO DEWA AGAIN… Oh MY OH MY.. I did not say it to them.. but you know what I mean..

I went back to NAKHEEL ASSET MANAGEMENT office in International city. I met this guy name Mr. D.

Mr. D is a guy  (I think he is Chinese or Japanese). so I complain again about the situation. He told me, noproblem, no problem, they will not disconnect. we are Nakheel. Ok I hope it will not.. Mr. D gave me letter addressed to DEWA stating that any balanced to the old account are they will settled and it’s nakheels responsibility.

I went back to DEWA and gave the letter and they accept my payment for June. IMAGE all those things is not in my account. Im just helping them so I can pay my bill for June..

FROM JULY until this minute..  DEWA will not accept my second payment until NAKHEEL settles  the whole amount . DEWA gave me until tomorrow October 27 and if Nakheel did not pay the outstanding balance DEWA will disconnect my water & electricity.

This morning October 26, 2008. I went to Nakheel Asset Management Office in International City at 7:00 am wait for 30 minutes. I spoked to Mr D. again and told him AGAIN this is so unreasonable.. This is not my balanced this is not my outstanding and you know what here replied to me.. No problem no problem. we will settle this.. I just need your help…

WHAT THE F*C*.. I did not say that last words.. but I am very very very frusrated on this.. He told me I need to go to DEWA ask the final outstanding of Nakheel with the stamp and come back here in the office and we will settle this.. OH SHIT!!!  oh shit.. I cannot do anything.. I am fucking upset on what happen and I just need to do it.

Mr. D don’ care about the customer because since June I was complaining to him about this DEWA and until now they are still not doing any single action about this thing.. Mr D is unhelpful, unprofessional person. what he will say to you. no problem no problem. go to DEWA comback here.. AND WHAT!! what’s next!! we will do it again next month.

Tomorrow is my  deadline for  disconnection. I will see what  will happen and will posted it here..

: sorry for my bad english.. I am just expressing my fucking thoughts about this situation.

Leave a comment